swisskrot.blogg.se

Ms excel y axis break
Ms excel y axis break




ms excel y axis break
  1. MS EXCEL Y AXIS BREAK ZIP FILE
  2. MS EXCEL Y AXIS BREAK SERIES

If you plot Value 3 (orange) in the data set above by itself against an appropriately scaled axis, it has an obvious wave form associated with it.īut, if you plot the Value 3 (orange) data set against an axis ranged appropriately for Value 1 (red), along with Value 2 (green) plotted against a secondary axis that is appropriately scaled for the Value 2 range, Value 3 it looks like a flat line.

MS EXCEL Y AXIS BREAK ZIP FILE

Incidentally, if you want to “play along”, I put the basic data set along with my example spreadsheet in a zip file that you can download from the Excel Third Axis tool page on our Commissioning Resources web site. To demonstrate the concept, I created a little data set with three very different orders of magnitude associated with the three data series.

  • If you had four (or five or six, etc.) radically different data sets, you can use the third axis technique I will discuss to create additional supplementary axes.
  • MS EXCEL Y AXIS BREAK SERIES

  • Multiple data series with similar ranges and magnitudes can share an axis, including the third axis we will discuss creating, and.
  • Moving forward, I will discuss this in the context of having three data series, each of which will be associated with a different axis. But I thought it might be useful to walk you through the steps in the process. But providing the additional axis, tied to the data series via its name, a person using the chart can read the scaled data against the extra axis. Then, I scale my data so it is visually meaningful on one of the two real axes that are available. My trick for adding an additional axis (or more) to an Excel chart it is create a data series that I plot vertically against the X axis which is scaled to reflect the range I need so that it spans the entire height of the chart. Having a third axis to dedicate to a third order of magnitude range (or a 4th or 5th or 6th if you needed them) makes it easier for me (and I think others) to intuitively read the chart. That worked, but it was kind of confusing in a way. Prior to the insight that lead to the technique I will show in this post, they way I dealt with the need to plot more than two data series with wildly different orders of magnitude was to scale one or more of them so they would be visually meaningful on one of the two axis I had available, and then include the scaling factor in the name of the series.įor instance, to plot the number of chillers running on the same axis as temperature, I might have multiplied the number of chillers running by 10 and then plotted it as Number of Chillers Running x 10.

    ms excel y axis break

    The number of chillers running, which would fall in the 1-10 rangeĪs you probably know, Excel lets you add a secondary axis to your charts, but, as far as I know, that is were it stops, at least in terms of being able to do it with the chart design tools.Tonnages and flow rates that would fall in the 0 – 15,000 gpm/ton range against.Temperatures that would all fall into the range 0-100☏ against.In other words, to get something visually meaningful 1, I needed to plot: One of the challenges that came up when I was creating the time series graph of a 9,000 ton chiller plant load profile that I show in my previous post was that I wanted to plot data series that had numbers in them with very large differences in the order of magnitude. But it also now includes a more practical example in the form of a chiller kW per ton profile.

    ms excel y axis break

    Mostly, I improved the instructions to make it more user friendly. Authors Note : I made some improvements to the third axis tool that is mentioned in this post and uploaded it to the page associated with it on the Commissioning Resources web site.






    Ms excel y axis break